Who’s out of the Tour de France after stage four?

Keep up to date with who has withdrawn from this year’s Tour de France

With three weeks of racing and thousands of kilometres to cover, sporting events don’t come tougher than the Tour de France.

Last year’s race was notable for its lack of early withdrawals – all 198 starters made it to the start of stage eight – but a rainy Grand Départ in Düsseldorf, Germany, and a controversy on stage four has made for a very different start to the 2017 Tour.

The most notable withdrawals so far have been those of Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) and Mark Cavendish (Dimension Data). The two riders clashed in the final sprint on stage four, with Cavendish crashing heavily and Sagan being disqualified by the race jury for ‘endangering’ other riders.

The wet conditions on the opening couple of stages in Germany claimed Spanish veteran Alejandro Valverde (Movistar), who suffered a broken kneecap in a high-speed crash on a left-hand bend on the opening time trial.

A key domestique for Nairo Quintana, the 37-year-old was even considered by some experts as an outside bet for the yellow jersey. But his hopes for the race were dashed in an instant when he came down, slid across the tarmac and hit a roadside barrier. He retired from the race immediately and looks set to miss the rest of the 2017 season.

Fellow Spaniard Ion Izagirre (Bahrain-Merida) crashed on the same bend as Valverde and also retired from the race, suffering a fracture to his lower back.

Luke Durbridge (Orica-Scott), who finished stage one despite crashing on the time trial, retired early in stage two. After his crash, the Australian’s team said they believed he had sustained ligament damage to his ankle and was cleared to start the following day – but was fairly swiftly forced to leave the race.

Watch highlights of stage four of the 2017 Tour de France

The race began on July 1 in Düsseldorf with 198 riders consisting of 22 teams of nine riders each.

Stage five abandonments

Mark Cavendish (Dimension Data) – DNS, fractured shoulder blade

Stage four abandonments

Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) – disqualified from race

Stage three abandonments


Stage two abandonments

Luke Durbridge (Orica-Scott) – ankle ligament damage

Stage one abandonments

Ion Izagirre (Bahrain-Merida) – fracture to lower back
Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) – broken knee cap, broken ankle

This page will be updated as the race progresses

Go to Source