South Florida Aquatics Wins 2018 Plantation Speedo Sectionals

Photo Courtesy: Todd Schmitz

Speedo Sectional Series is proudly sponsored by Speedo. Visit for more information on our sponsor.

South Florida Aquatics won the combined team title with 1534 points at the 2018 Speedo Sectional Championships Series in Plantation, Fla.

Second place went to Gator Swim Club (1472), followed by Azura Florida Aquatic (1459), East Coast Aquatic Club (1139) and Bolles School (1016.5).

Full results can be found on Meet Mobile – Southern Zone South Sectional Championships.

AquaKids Sharks’ Mary Smutny, who has committed to Texas beginning in 2019, began the final night of competition by dropping nearly seven seconds from her prelims time in the women’s 200 fly, winning in a time of 2:14.97. Swim Florida’s Olivia McMurray took second in 2:17.29 and Nikki Miller was third in 2:17.75.

Gator Swim Club’s Mason Wilby, who will swim for Kentucky in the fall, was victorious in the men’s 200 fly with a final time of 2:02.52. Miguel Cancel (2:04.76) came in second and TS Aquatics’ Carlos Vasquez (2:07.02) was third.

Future Florida Gator Kathleen Golding of the South Florida won her first individual title this weekend, this time taking the crown in the women’s 100 free in 56.94. Smutny took second in 52.54 and Daytona Beach’s Micayla Cronk finished third in 57.35.

Ryan Lochte won the men’s 100 free in 50.94 for his fourth victory of the weekend. Azura Florida’s Victor Tarin (51.73) was second and Jack Szaranek (51.89) was third.

Soon-to-be LSU Tiger Alexandra McDaid of Peddie dropped over six seconds from her morning swim to win the women’s 200 breast in 2:35.90. Mercedes Toledo touched the wall in 2:36.88 for second and Laker’s Hayley Clark was third in 2:41.33.

Florida State swimmer Julio Horrego won the men’s 200 breast in 2:21.12 to match his 100 breast win from earlier this weekend, dropping just over six seconds from his prelims time. Pipeline’s Jared Pike finished second in 2:21.85 and East Coast Aquatics’ Kevin Degrijze took third in 2:24.74.

Georgia Darwent earned the gold in the women’s 200 back, stopping the clock in a quick 2:19.32. Cronk grabbed the silver in a close 2:19.51 while East Coast Aquatics’ Madison Cummings took the bronze in 2:19.68.

Cancel won his third event of the meet, this time taking the men’s 200 back title in 2:06.60. Treasure Coast’s William McCloud touched second in 2:07.56 and Flood Aquatics’ Joshua Zuchowski took third in 2:07.82.

Go to Source