Liège-Bastogne-Liège 2019: all you need to know

All the information you need ahead of Liège-Bastogne-Liège and Liège-Bastogne-Liège Femmes, taking place on April 28 in 2019

Liège-Bastogne-Liège is the oldest of the five Monuments, and one of three spring Classics taking place in the Ardennes region. In 2019, the race is set to take place on April 28.

As the name may suggest, the race takes riders from Liège to Bastogne, and back. It’s a UCI WorldTour event, and in 2017 a women’s version was added – this is part of the UCI Women’s WorldTour and takes place on the same day.

>>> The climbs of Liège-Bastogne-Liège

The route for the 2019 edition represents a departure from the status quo of recent years, with a finish in the centre of Liège that is expected to favour a rider more suited to faster, flat finishes.

Liège-Bastogne-Liège 2019 route

The route for Liège-Bastogne-Liège always promises to throw up a war of attrition, with steep climbs providing opportunities for attacks and the unavoidable counters.

However, for 2019, we’ll be treated to a major shake up, as the finish moves from the Liègeois suburb of Ans to Liège itself. Though there will be plenty of metres of elevation along the way to whittle down the finishers, the new final stretch will be a flat sprint.

As per previous editions, the greatest challenges will feature in the second half of the 265km route, with nine ramps within the final 100km – including the trio of the Wanne, Stockeu and Haute-Levée, followed by the Côte de Mont-le-Soie.

In order to relocate the finish line to the city centre, the final uphill tests have been revised – with riders charging towards the finish via the Côte de la Redoute, Côte des Forges and the Côte de la Roche-aux-Faucons.

The women’s 138.5km parcours will share the same finish, with riders facing a total of five climbs – first the Côte de Wanne, Côte de Brume and Côte de la Vecquée, before a decisive finish over the Côte de La Redoute and Côte de la Roche-aux-Faucons.

Liège–Bastogne–Liège 2019 teams

The men’s race will be attended by all 18 WorldTour teams, as well as seven wildcard teams, these have been announced as:

  • Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise
  • Wallonie Bruxelles
  • Wanty-Gobert Cycling
  • Team Confidis, Solutions Crédits
  • Direct Énergie
  • Team Arkea-Samsic
  • Vital Concept – B&B Hotels

Liège–Bastogne–Liège 2019 on TV

Eurosport will broadcast the men’s race live, with coverage on Eurosport 1 from 13.00 to 16.30.

Liège–Bastogne–Liège previous winners

The 2018 win went to Quick-Step Floors’ Bob Jungles, he attacked with just under 20 kilometres to go, pushing ahead at the top of the Côte de la Roche-aux-Faucons before riding to the finish line alone.

2001 Oscar Camenzind (SUI) Lampre–Daikin
2002 Paolo Bettini (ITA) Mapei–Quick-Step
2003 Tyler Hamilton (USA) Team CSC
2004 Davide Rebellin (ITA) Gerolsteiner
2005 Alexandre Vinokourov (KAZ) T-Mobile Team
2006 Alejandro Valverde (ESP) Caisse d’Epargne–Illes Balears
2007 Danilo Di Luca (ITA) Liquigas
2008 Alejandro Valverde (ESP) Caisse d’Epargne
2009 Andy Schleck (LUX) Team Saxo Bank
2010 Alexandre Vinokourov (KAZ) Astana
2011 Philippe Gilbert (BEL) Omega Pharma–Lotto
2012 Maxim Iglinsky (KAZ) Astana
2013 Dan Martin (IRL) Garmin–Sharp
2014 Simon Gerrans (AUS) Orica–GreenEDGE
2015 Alejandro Valverde (ESP) Movistar Team
2016 Wout Poels (NED) Team Sky
2017 Alejandro Valverde (ESP) Movistar Team
2018 Bob Jungels (Lux) Quick-Step Floors

Liège–Bastogne–Liège Femmes winners

2017 Anna van der Breggen (Ned) Boels Dolmans
2018 Anna van der Breggen (Ned) Boels Dolmans

The inaugural Liège–Bastogne–Liège Femmes victory went to Anna van der Breggen (Boels-Dolmans) – she managed to claim all three Ardennes Classics wins in an incredible display of spring form that player a part in her taking the second spot in the Cycling Weekly Top 100 Riders of 2017.

The ‘Queen of the Ardennes’ continued the same success into 2018, with wins at all three of the events once again.

We’ll keep updating this page as more information becomes available. 

Go to Source