Kyle Edmund loses in Chengdu but Cameron Norrie wins in Zhuhai

Kyle Edmund

British number one Kyle Edmund lost 6-3 6-2 to Chile’s Cristian Garin in the Chengdu Open first round in China.

World number 32 Edmund, seeded seventh, fell to defeat in 72 minutes against Garin, who is unseeded, but only one place lower in the rankings.

Edmund has now lost four successive matches and has suffered three consecutive first-round exits.

Fellow Briton Cameron Norrie is through to the second round at the Zhuhai Championships in China.

The world number 68 defeated Germany’s Peter Gojowczyk 6-1 6-4.

Norrie will meet French third seed Gael Monfils in the second round.

Andy Murray continues his comeback from hip surgery in the same event, playing American Tennys Sandgren on Tuesday.

Go to Source

Tech of the week: lube choice and underfuelling

Peter Sagan says he is ‘not dreaming of fourth World Championship title’

Netherlands win Worlds mixed relay TTT as Great Britain clinch podium place

‘I was able to test my legs and it felt good’: Mathieu van der Poel confident ahead of Yorkshire Worlds road race

Peaks Tour

September 21

Forest of Bowland

September 29

Box Hill Original

October 05

Go to Source

Team Europe seal third straight Laver Cup win in Geneva

Team Europe celebrate their Laver Cup win over Team World

Alexander Zverev won a deciding rubber against Milos Raonic in Switzerland to earn Team Europe a dramatic 13-11 win over Team World in the Laver Cup.

Zverev beat Raonic 6-4 3-6 10-4 for Team Europe’s third victory in a row.

Team World were 7-5 down overnight but John Isner and Jack Sock overcame Roger Federer and Stefanos Tsitsipas 5-7 6-4 10-8 in the doubles to put them 8-7 up.

Taylor Fritz beat Dominic Thiem to make it 11-7 but Team Europe won after Federer beat Isner and Zverev also won.

Fritz secured a narrow 7-5 6-7 (3-7) 10-5 victory over Thiem, while 20-time Grand Slam winner Federer, playing in his home country, claimed a 6-4 7-6 (7-3) win over Isner in Geneva.

Both sides had player withdrawals for injuries on the final day, with Rafael Nadal pulling out for Team Europe and Nick Kyrgios for Team World.

Nadal was supposed to partner Federer in the doubles and face Kyrgios in a singles tie.

The Spaniard was replaced by Tsitsipas in the doubles, while Thiem came in for him in the singles ties – in which Fritz stood in for Kyrgios.

Team World have yet to win the competition since its inception three years ago.

“I’m very proud of my team,” said Team Europe skipper Bjorn Borg. “I’m a very happy captain.”

Go to Source

Willett wins PGA Championship at Wentworth

Breaking news

England’s Danny Willett has won the PGA Championship by three shots after a five-under-par 67 on the final day at Wentworth.

Willett began the day tied for the lead with Spain’s Jon Rahm, who shot 70 to finish second, with South Africa’s Christian Bezuidenhout third.

It is the 31-year-old’s biggest since the 2016 US Masters and the seventh of his career.

Justin Rose was eighth after a 72, one place ahead of Rory McIlroy.

More to follow.

Go to Source